The Last of Us, Batman and AC IV up for Writers Guild Awards

The Writers Guild of America, the union that represents Hollywood scriptwriters, has announced the nominees for its 2014 awards, including the Outstanding Achievement in Video Games Writing category.

Five games are nominated in all, with an early favourite likely to be SONY's critically acclaimed The Last of Us. The tale of Joel and Ellie, and their journey across an America decimated by a fungal plague, left critics and players alike both moved and exhilirated. Naughty Dog writer Neil Druckmann is the man in line for the prize.

It'll be facing stiff competition from Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag, Ubisoft's compelling pirate yarn. PS Vita spin-off Assassin's Creed: Liberation won the award last year, so Darby McDevitt and his writing team are in a strong position.

Batman is also in the running, courtesy of Arkham Origins, a prequel tale which follows the caped crusader in the early days of his crimefighting career, as he's hunted by various killers over one snowy Christmas Eve.

Finally, also nominated are God of War: Ascension, written by Marianne Krawcyzk and Ariel Lawrence, and Capcom's Lost Planet 3, penned by Richard Gaubert, Orion Walker and Matt Sophos.

If it looks like some key games are missing - the absence of Grand Theft Auto V may have caught your eye - that's because games must be put forward for the award by the publisher, and the writers involved must be WGA members.

Published: 10/01/2014

Click here to write a comment


Buy now

All products