Evolve's monster skill points explained

Evolve is the upcoming sci-fi multiplayer game from Turtle Rock which tasks four players with hunting down a fifth who is in control of a powerful and dangerous monster

Release Date: 15/04/2014

Evolve is the upcoming sci-fi multiplayer game from Turtle Rock, the studio which gave us Left 4 Dead. In the game, a team of four players must hunt - and be hunted by - a fifth player controlling a constantly evolving alien monster. Showing the game's latest build at the PAX East game show, Turtle Rock has been explaining how that evolution will work.

Monsters will have four different abilities. In the case of the Goliath, the only creature revealed so far, that means it can rip up chunks of earth and hurl them, it has charge and jump attacks, and it breathes fire. Any of these can be improved by using skill points, earned by hunting the animals that share the game with you.

"You can choose to spread your skill points across three abilities or max one of those abilities up. It’s really made your choices much broader," executive producer Denby Grace told Polygon. "It has made for some really, really interesting strategies."

In another interview, this time with Joystiq, Grace compares the balancing to that of a fighting game, and insists that it won't be possible for either side to be completely over-powered. "There's just a bazillion little dials that we can twist," he explained. "Every ability, every item, every weapon has its counter as well, on the opposing team. In that respect, we're very careful about not giving people a bunch of overpowered stuff."

Apparently everyone at Turtle Rock is currently playing at least two hours of Evolve every day, in order to get enough playtesting data to ensure the finished game is perfectly balanced.

Evolve is due later this year on Xbox One, PlayStation 4 and PC.

GAME looks at the monster skill points in Evolve on PlayStation 4, Xbox One and PC.
Show more Show less

Pegi Rating:

Suitable for people aged and over.



Customer Rating:

No rating yet


Delivery type Delivery Time Cost
Standard Orders 2 - 4 working days** £4.99
Pre-Orders 1 working day** £4.99
Next Day incl. Saturday 1 working day** £7.99 per order
Premium Next Day incl. Saturday
Delivery by DPD (Carbon Neutral)
1 working day** £9.99 per order
Premium Next Day pre 12pm
Delivery by DPD (Carbon Neutral)
1 working day** £11.99 per order
Console Orders For Playstation 5, Xbox Series X|S, Nintendo Switch and VR 1 working day** £9.99
Insured* Delivery 1 working day** £19.99
Click & Collect 1-2 working days £4.99
(Pay online, delivered to store, plus receive a £5 voucher to spend in store when you collect)
Click & Collect Hardware Orders PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X | S, Nintendo Switch and VR 1-2 working days £9.99 per order
(Pay online, delivered to store, plus receive a £5 voucher to spend in store when you collect)
Click & Reserve 2 hours from order FREE
(Order online, pick up and pay in store)

Small Print


• Order up to 7pm for next day delivery Sunday to Friday


• Orders placed after 7pm Friday to 7pm Sunday will be dispatched Sunday.


• Whilst we will do everything we can to meet the delivery times above, there may be factors outside of our control and we cannot guarantee delivery within this timeframe


• Digital purchases are excluded from the total order value for tracked courier services.


*Insured Delivery is subject to customer submitting a DPD Lost in Transit claim via GAME customer services and DPD validating such claim, Insured Delivery entitles customer to either;

a) a free of charge replacement console, and a partial refund of £50 to the original method of payment; or

b) a full refund of the price paid for the console ordered and the £19.99 delivery charge (payable to original method of payment), together with £50 compensation (payable at customer’s choice, either by BACS, Cheque or onto a GAME Gift card).

Please note that DPD's Lost in Transit claim procedure can take up to 21 days to complete.

*Click and Collect Voucher


• Terms and conditions apply please see terms for details.


**Remote Area Delivery Times


• Deliveries including Pre-orders to non-mainland UK addresses and remote locations (such as the Scottish Isles, Isle of Man, Isle of Wight, Northern Ireland and the Scottish Highlands) may take longer to reach you.


Sign up for a GAME Reward Account online for FREE, via the GAME App or in your local store.

Earn points whenever you trade-in or buy at GAME. Use your points to save on the stuff you want in-store.

Join Today - £3 per Month

Join GAME Elite today and earn up to 10% points back with GAME Elite - Our exclusive membership service from GAME. With extra points and more cash to spend, this deal is seriously on point.

Our promise to you - you can’t lose – join today and if you receive less points back from purchases than the fee you have paid for your membership for 12 months, we will give you the difference back in points.

Receive exclusive deals and offers and we will even send you a gift around your birthday.

NEW: £4.99 Standard Delivery charge back in points for GAME Elite members

Key Benefits:
  • 10% points back on all physical games, merchandise and accessories
  • 2% points back on all consoles, PC, VR, phones and tablets
  • 2% points back on trade-in and digital
  • Exclusive deals and offers
  • Birthday gift
  • Our promise to you – you can’t lose

    Terms and conditions apply

    Please note: You will not receive Reward points for your purchase of GAME Elite Membership